The West Allis Historical Society is conveniently located at 8405 W. National Ave. in West Allis, Wisconsin. The Historical Society Grounds are within beautiful Honey Creek Park, a 3.7 acre park that contains trails and a scenic gazebo.
As of Nov. 23, the West Allis Historical Society is closed to the public due to the coronavirus pandemic. Please contact us via email for assistance.
West Allis Historical Society Museum
The West Allis Historical Society maintains the West Allis Historical Museum, originally Greenfield Township’s Fifth District School. This building is an example of Richardson Romanesque architecture and was built in 1887 of Cream City brick. Today, the Museum features two stories of recreations of historical West Allis businesses and homesteads, and showcases exhibits and memorabilia from West Allis’ residential, agricultural, and industrial past. The meticulously maintained collection of artifacts includes vintage fashions, toys, quilts and crafts, furniture and home goods, as well as factory machinery, farm equipment, and tools.
Outside the museum, explore the Memorial Garden, an outdoor tour of architectural relics salvaged from West Allis’ past.
The Museum is open during the West Allis Historical Society’s hours of 2 – 4 p.m. on Sundays and 7 – 9 p.m. on Tuesdays. Admission and parking are free. Group tours at the museum and special presentations at schools and organizations can be arranged; please contact us for more information.
Honey Creek Log Schoolhouse
The Honey Creek Log Schoolhouse Museum was established in 1998 as part of community celebrations for Wisconsin’s Sesquicentennial Anniversary and to recognize the early settlers of Honey Creek, the small settlement which would grow to become West Allis. The Log Schoolhouse provides educational opportunities for local students studying Wisconsin history, allowing them to visit this one-room classroom and experience student life as it would have been conducted in the 1840s. A docent teacher adopts the persona of William Wallace Johnson or his sister, Marion Johnson Cooper, who were the first teachers at the Honey Creek School.
Honey Creek Cemetery
On April 23, 1849, the Honey Creek Cemetery Association purchased one acre of land from Reuben Strong for $25.00 to create Honey Creek Cemetery.
There are 112 lots in the cemetery, which sold for $2 a lot. The first person buried in Honey Creek Cemetery was Minerva Johnson, born on June 8, 1845 and died May 10, 1849 buried on lot number 61.
Today, exploring Honey Creek Cemetery offers fascinating and poignant encounters with some of West Allis’ earliest residents.
- 5 Civil War soldiers are buried in Honey Creek Cemetery.
- There is a marker for Ira Woodcock, a Civil War veteran, although he is buried in Pine Bluff, Arkansas where he died on August 3, 1864.
- There are approximately 383 adults and 135 infants, stillborn infants, and children buried in the cemetery.
- On April 18, 1946 the Honey Creek Cemetery Association deeded the Honey Creek Cemetery to the City of West Allis.
- Some family members still have the right to be buried in the cemetery.
Honey Creek Park
The West Allis Historical Society is located at historic Honey Creek Park. This 3.7 acre park contains trails and a gazebo. Tree species include linden, Norway maple, spruce, pine, oak, cedar and many others. Historic sites include the West Allis Historical Society’s Monument Garden, featuring architectural remnants from West Allis’ past, informational signage along the paths, and the remains of the Honey Creek Bridge, constructed in the 1930s by the Civilian Conservation Corps.